The Decapolis 

The Decapolis, what were the cities of the Decapolis
The Decapolis, what were the cities of the Decapolis

What were the cities of the Decapolis

The Decapolis was a league of ten cities in the eastern Roman Empire during the Hellenistic and Roman periods. The cities of the Decapolis were primarily located in the areas of modern-day Jordan, Israel, and Syria. While the exact composition of the Decapolis may have varied over time, the following cities are commonly associated with the league:

  • Damascus (Syria)
  • Gerasa (Jerash, Jordan)
  • Philadelphia (Amman, Jordan)
  • Raphana (Abila, Jordan)
  • Scythopolis (Beth Shean, Israel)
  • Pella (Tabaqat Fahl, Jordan)
  • Gadara (Umm Qais, Jordan)
  • Hippos (Susita, Israel)
  • Dion (Beit Ras, Jordan)
  • Canatha (Qanawat, Syria)

These ten cities were known for their Greek and Roman cultural influences and often served as centers of commerce, trade, and Hellenistic-Roman civilization in the region. It’s important to note that while these cities were associated with the Decapolis, the league itself was a loose confederation rather than a political entity with centralized governance.

Shop Corner

Ancient cities of the Decapolis on Amazon

Let us pray with Mary, the Holy Mother of Jesus, Mother of ALL

Article written with help of openai‘s chatGPT language Models, Dalle and Picsart

Time to learnSee the options

Make your own website & learn affiliate marketing

Add Comment

Optimized by Optimole
You cannot copy content of this page
Skip to content