Mother of sorrows

Mother of sorrows
Mother of sorrows

Mother of sorrows, the oldest title give  to mother mary

Mother of Sorrows,” or “Mater Dolorosa” in Latin, is one of the oldest and most significant titles given to the Virgin Mary in Christian tradition. It highlights her deep and profound sorrow, particularly during the events of Jesus’ crucifixion and death. This title emphasizes Mary’s role as a compassionate and empathetic figure who shares in the suffering of humanity.

The devotion to the Mater Dolorosa has been an important aspect of Catholic and Orthodox spirituality for centuries. Many artworks, prayers, and devotional practices are dedicated to Mary under this title, emphasizing her role as a loving mother who understands and comforts those who are in pain or facing trials.

Portraits depicting an older Virgin Mary carrying the sorrows of the world, likely aligns with this tradition and serves as a poignant reminder of Mary’s role as the Mother of Sorrows, offering solace and compassion to those who turn to her in times of suffering and distress.


The tradition of devotion to the Mater Dolorosa, or the Mother of Sorrows

The tradition of devotion to the Mater Dolorosa, or the Mother of Sorrows, has deep historical roots in both the Roman Catholic and Eastern Orthodox Churches.

In the Roman Catholic Church

  • The development of devotion to the Mater Dolorosa can be traced back to the Middle Ages, with the emergence of various Marian devotions and expressions of piety. The idea of Mary’s sorrows and her role as the Mother of Sorrows gradually gained prominence.
  • The feast of the Seven Sorrows of the Blessed Virgin Mary, also known as the Feast of Our Lady of Sorrows, was officially established in the Roman Catholic Church by Pope Pius VII in 1814. This feast, celebrated on September 15th, focuses on Mary’s sorrows during her life, particularly during the Passion and death of Jesus.
  • The specific title “Mater Dolorosa” and the associated devotions became more pronounced in the centuries that followed.

In the Eastern Orthodox Church

  • The veneration of the Mother of God as the Theotokos (Mother of God) is central to Eastern Orthodox Christianity, and the idea of her sorrows and compassion for humanity has always been a part of this tradition.
  • While the concept of the Mater Dolorosa may not be as explicitly defined as in the Roman Catholic tradition, the Eastern Orthodox Church has long recognized the sorrow and compassion of the Virgin Mary.
  • The Dormition (Assumption) of the Theotokos, celebrated on August 15th, also includes elements of her sorrow and compassion, as her earthly departure is often associated with grief and the gathering of the apostles.
  • The Eastern Orthodox Church has a rich tradition of iconography that conveys the Theotokos’s role as a compassionate intercessor and her connection to the sorrows of humanity.

In both traditions, the emphasis on Mary’s sorrows and her role as a compassionate and understanding mother developed over centuries, and various feasts, prayers, and devotional practices emerged to express this devotion. The specific timing and development of these traditions can vary within different regions and cultural contexts.


Let us pray with Mary, the Holy Mother of Jesus, Mother of ALL

Article written with help of openai‘s chatGPT language Models, Dalle and Picsart

Time to learnSee the options

Make your own website & learn affiliate marketing

Add Comment

Optimized by Optimole
You cannot copy content of this page
Skip to content